Finalists announced for 2018 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II National Freshman of the Year

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Eight finalists have been selected for the 2018 Schutt Sports / NFCA Division II National Freshman of the Year. There is one finalist from each of the eight regions and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, May 23 at the NCAA Division II Softball Championship Banquet in Salem, Va.

All eight finalists were named their respective conference’s freshman of the year with Concordia Irvine’s Callie Nunes named the PacWest’s Pitcher of the Year as well. Seven garnered NFCA All-Region recognition, including five first-team honorees- Nunes, Lauryn King of West Virginia Wesleyan, Ashley Mickschl of Augustana, Emily Harris of Young Harris and Alley Taylor of West Georgia. Tarleton State’s Georgia Capell and McKendree’s Miranda Gajewski took home second-team honors.

Seven of the eight finalists are representing their programs for the first time. LIU Post’s Breana Klaiber is the second Pioneer to garner recognition.

The award was created in 2015 to honor the outstanding athletic achievement among freshmen softball student-athletes throughout NCAA Division II. Dixie State’s Janessa Bassett was the inaugural recipient and Colorado Christian’s Charlotte Romero earned the honor in 2016.

2018 Schutt Sports/NFCA DII National Freshman of the Year Finalists

Georgia Capell, DP, Tarleton State
Miranda Gajewski, P/UT, McKendree
Emily Harris, IF, Young Harris
Lauryn King, OF, West Virginia Wesleyan
Breana Klaiber, 3B, LIU Post
Ashley Mickschl, P/IF, Augustana
Callie Nunes, P, Concordia Irvine
Alley Taylor, SS, West Georgia

Past winners
2017- Autumn Humes, Harding University
2016 – Charlotte Romero, Colorado Christian
2015 – Janessa Bassett, Dixie State