SCSU to host Holiday Inn/Huskies Open on Dec. 9

The tradition continues in Halenbeck Hall!

#1 St. Cloud State (5-0, 1-0 NSIC) is proud to host the 47th annual Holiday Inn and Suites Huskies Open on Saturday, Dec. 9 in the Halenbeck Hall Fieldhouse. The Husky Open will feature many of the region’s top NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NJCAA programs and athletes. Tickets for this event may be purchased at the gate on the day of the tournament.

The teams scheduled to participate in the Husky Open this year include St. Cloud State, Mary, Southwest State, Northern State, North Dakota State, South Dakota State, Northern Iowa, Minnesota, Augsburg, St. Johns, Ridgewater CC, Rochester Tech, Northland CC and Itasca CC.

For many years this annual tournament featured a team tournament format. In 2006-07, the tournament changed to its current open format without team scores.

The Huskies Open features two awards presented annually during the tournament. The award that is presented to the outstanding wrestler of the day is the John Oxton Award, while the award presented to the wrestler with the most pins is the Jack Gause Award. Both awards are named after former SCSU wrestling coaches. St. Cloud State University wrestling would like to thank the St. Cloud Holiday Inn and Suites and All-Star Trophy for their support of this year’s Huskies Open.

The Huskies Open has also been designated as Parent’s Day and Military Appreciation Day for the Huskies this season.

Complete results from this tournament will be available throughout the day on www.trackwrestling.com

View More College News

HOLIDAY INN/Huskies Open Weight Champions:
(Open era only)

2006: Seth Flodeen (Augsburg UA)
2007: Zach Sanders (Minnesota)
2008: Cody Zimmerman (UW-P)
2009: Chris Heilman (unattached)
2010: Alex Johnson (Indianapolis)
2011: Jordan Kingsley (Minnesota)
2012: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)
2013: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)
2014: Mike Fuenffinger (Augsburg)
2015: Steven Polakowski (Minnesota)
2016: Brett Velasquez (SCSU)

2006: Jeff Pfaffinger (MSU)
2007: Travis Lang (Augsburg)
2008: Travis Lang (Augsburg)
2009: Paul Bjorkstrand (Augsburg)
2010: Drew Lexvold (Minnesota)
2011: Zach Stewart (SCSU)
2012: Andy Pokorny (SCSU)
2013: Zach Stewart (SCSU)
2014: Jarred Oftedahl (SCSU)
2015: Jarred Oftedahl (SCSU)
2016: Jarred Oftedahl (SCSU)

2006: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2007: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2008: Travis Elg (Minnesota State)
2009: Gabe Suarez (SCSU)
2010: Nick Dardanes (Minnesota)
2011: Seth Lange (Minnesota)
2012: Trevor Johnson (Mary)
2013: Joe Munos (Rochester CC)
2014: Curt Zachmeier (SCSU)
2015: Taner Trembley (SCSU)
2016: Nathan Smith (NDSU)

2006: Jason Rhoten (MSU)
2007: Wily Holst (Augsburg)
2008: Craig Becker (UW-Parkside)
2009: Trevor Kittleson (UNI)
2010: Dylan Ness (Minnesota)
2011: Tony Valek (Augsburg)
2012: Dan Argueta (UW-Parkside)
2013: Josh Howk (SCSU)
2014: Josh Howk (SCSU)
2015: Jay Hildreth (SCSU)
2016: Ryan Epps (Augsburg)

2006: Jeremy Anderson (Augsburg)
2007: Eddie Stefonek (UW-Parkside)
2008: Jason Adams (Augsburg)
2009: Jason Adams (Augsburg)
2010: Nick Warpole (Indianapolis)
2011: Tel Todd (Minnesota)
2012: Clint Poster (SCSU)
2013: Craig Brecker (Unattached)
2014: Clint Poster (SCSU)
2015: Brad Dolezal (Minnesota)
2016: Larry Bomstad (SCSU)

2006: Scott Dorn (UW-LaCrosse)
2007: Kyle Becker (UW-Parkside)
2008: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2009: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2010: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2011: Dan Dick (SCSU)
2012: Nick Fishback (UW-Parkside)
2013: Nick Fishback (UW-Parkside)
2014: Gabe Fogarty (SCSU)
2015: Clint Poster (SCSU)
2016: Colton Clingenpeel (NDSU)

2006: Josh Chelf (UW-LaCrosse)
2007: Kaleb Young (Minnesota)
2008: Tim Matheson (MSU)
2009:Luke Rynish (UW-Parkside)
2010: Zach Molitor (Augsburg)
2011: Tad Merritt (SCSU)
2012: Josh Kohler (Augsburg)
2013: Montrail Johnson (UW-P)
2014: Nick Becker (UW-Parkside)
2015: Clayton Jennissen (SCSU)
2016: Adam Cooling (MSU Mankato)

Click Here: st kilda saints guernsey 2019

2006: Jason Lullof (Upper Iowa)
2007: Sonny Yohn (Minnesota – UA)
2008: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2009: Ryan Lader (UNI – UA)
2010: Aaron Norgren (MSU)
2011: Joel Bauman (Minnesota)
2012: Shamus O’Grady (SCSU)
2013: Josh Anthony (UW-Parkside)
2014: Dylon Braun (SCSU)
2015: Uthman Rabiu (SCSU)
2016: Owen Webster (Augsburg)

2006: Ryan Phillips (Upper Iowa)
2007: Nick Wilkes (SCSU)
2008: Josh Holforty (UW-EC)
2009: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2010: Luke Munkelwitz (SCSU)
2011: Scott Schiller (Minnesota)
2012: Nick Wilkes (Unattached)
2013: Matthew Hechsel (Augsburg)
2014: Matthen Hechsel (Augsburg)
2015: V.J. Guilio (SCSU)
2016: Vince Dietz./Uthman Rabiu (SCSU)

2006: Brady Wilson (MSU)
2007: Brady Wilson (MSU)
2008: Brady Wilson (MSU)
2009: Brady Wilson (MSU)
2010: Jake Kahnke (SCSU)
2011: Jake Kahnke (SCSU)
2012: Chad Johnson (Augsburg)
2013: Chad Johnson (Augsburg)
2014: Austin Goergen (SCSU)
2015: Austin Goergen (SCSU)
2016: Austin Goergen (SCSU)

John Oxton Award (MVP) Winners:
2006: Travis Elg, Minnesota State (141)
2007: Zach Sanders, Minnesota UA (125)
2008: Tad Merritt, SCSU (165)
2009: Tad Merritt, SCSU (165)
2010: Dylan Ness, UM (149)
2011: Tad Merritt, SCSU (174)
2012: Shamus O’Grady, SCSU (184)
2013: Chad Johnson, Augsburg (285)
2014: Clinit Poster, SCSU (157)
2015: Austin Goergen, SCSU (285)
2016: Austin Goergen (285)

Jack Gause Award (Most Pins) Winners:
2007: Phil Moenkedick, Concordia (174)
2008: Skip Johnson, Itasca C.C.
2009: Brady Wilson, Minnesota State (285)
2010: Sam Schad, Rochester (157)
2011: Jake Kahnke, SCSU (285) & Matt Wyss, Iowa Lakes CC (285)
2012: Shamus O’Grady, SCSU (184)
2013: Jarred Oftedahl, SCSU (125)
2014: Travis Holt, SCSU (157)
2015: Clint Poster, SCSU (165)
2016: Austin Goergen (285)