Josh Rodriguez Wins Third Bison Open Wrestling Title, Hayden Zillmer Picks Up Second

FARGO, N.D.–North Dakota State University 125-pounder Josh Rodriguez collected his third Bison Open championship while 184-pound Hayden Zillmer claimed his second straight title to highlight the NDSU effort Saturday, Nov. 14, before 602 fans at the Fargodome. The Bison had 11 wrestlers advance to the finals and rolled up eight individual titles overall at the 45th annual event.

NDSU (0-1, 0-0 Big 12) is scheduled to host No. 6-ranked Virginia Tech at 4 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 22, at the Bentson Bunker Fieldhouse.

Rodriguez, a junior from Guadalupe, Calif. (Righetti HS), recorded four wins including a 20-7 major decision over unattached Cameron Sykora in the finals. He had a pair of tech falls and a pin in improving to 9-1 on the season. Rodriguez won the 125-pound title wrestling unattached in 2013 and the 133-pound crown in 2012. He did not compete at the tournament in 2014.

Zillmer, a senior from Crosby, Minn. (Crosby-Ironton HS), made it 2-for-2 with his second pin of the tournament at 4:28 over unattached Timothy Young in the championship match. Zillmer won all four matches including a pair of tech falls to improve to 9-0 on the season. He is ranked No. 6 nationally.

Nick O’Brien (133), Kyle Gliva (149), unattached Andrew Fogarty (157), Tyler McNutt (165), unattached Cordell Eaton (197) and Ben Tynan (285) each won their weight divisions, while unattached Nico Colunga (133), unattached Tyler Harrington (174) and Logan Paxton (197) achieved runner-up finishes.

Bison Open Results

View More College News

Click Here: cheap INTERNATIONAL jersey