Daily Pro Wrestling History (05/07): Ric Flair defeats Ricky Steamboat for the NWA World Title; Hayes win NWA US Title


Kansas City, Missouri:
– Stanislaus Zbyszko defeated Americus (Gus Schoenlein) to win the World Heavyweight Title 


Houston, Texas:
– Danny McShain defeated Miguel Guzmán for the Texas Heavyweight Title 


Houston, Texas:
– Bull Curry defeated Ray Gunkel to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Title 


San Fransisco, California:
– Lord James Blears and Gene Kiniski defeated Ben and Mike Sharpe for the San Francisco NWA World Tag Team Title


– Larry Chene and Herb Freeman defeated Jack O’Reilly and Kurt Von Poppenheim to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title


Calgary, Alberta, Canada:
– Jerry Christy defeated Abdullah the Butcher for the Stampede North American Heavyweight Title 

Amarillo, Texas:
– Terry Funk defeated Ricky Romero for the NWA Western States Heavyweight Title 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
– AWA Tag Team Champions Mad Dog Vachon & Butcher Vachon beat Verne Gagne & the Crusher 
– Blackjack Lanza ddq Wilbur Snyder
– Angelo Poffo beat Jack Pesek
– Billy Red Lyons beat Joe Scarpello
– Edouard Carpentier beat Larry Hennig
– Pepper Gomez beat Lars Anderson


Nashville, Tennessee:
– George Gulas and Jerry Jarrett defeated Don and Ron Wright for the NWA Tennessee Tag Team Titles
– Luke Graham won the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title from Don Kent

Enu, Japan:
– Giant Baba & Samson Kutsuwada defeated WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino & Mike George 


Amarillo, Texas:
– The Super Destroyer defeated The Mighty Canadian (Gene Kiniski) to win the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title 


Bayamon, Puerto, Rico:
– José Miguel Perez defeated Hurácan Castillo in a tournament final for the vacant WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title 

New Haven, Connecticut:
– WWWF World Champion Superstar Billy Graham defeated Billy White Wolf (Sheik Adnan El Kassey) 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin:
– AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Ray Stevens
– Pedro Morales beat Lord Alfred Hayes forfeit
– Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell drew Billy Francis & Bob Backlund
– Billy Robinson beat Blackjack Lanza
– Larry Hennig beat Roger Kirby


Memphis, Tennessee:
– Bill Dundee and Robert Fuller defeated The Assassins in a loser leaves town match to win the AWA Southern Tag Team Titles

Odessa, Texas:
– Blackjack Mulligan won the Amarillo NWA International Heavyweight Title from Dory Funk, Jr


Kansas City, Kansas:
– Rufus R. Jones defeated Bobby Jaggers for the NWA Central States Television Title 


– Timothy Flowers and Adrian Street defeated Chris Adams and Ringo Rigsby to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Titles


Fort Worth, Texas:
– NWA World champion Kerry Von Erich beat Terry Gordy
– Killer Khan defeated Kelly Kiniski for the World Class Television Title

Birmingham, Alabama:
– Tommy Gilbert defeated Johnny Rich to win the NWA Southeast United States Junior Heavyweight Title 

Montreal, Ontario, Canada:
– Dino Bravo & Rick Martel beat Abdullah the Butcher & Jerry Blackwell 
– AWA Champion Jumbo Tsuruta beat Nick Bockwinkel via dq
– Mad Dog Lefebvre & Frenchie Martin & Rick Valentine beat Raymond Rougeau & Tony Parisi & Gino Brito Sr
– Leo Burke beat Richard Charland
– King Tonga beat Reggie Rapone
– Armand Rougeau drew Mike Shaw
– Gino Brito Jr. beat Bob Boucher


Louisville, Kentucky:
– Jerry Oske defeated Randy Savage to win the AWA Southern Heavyweight Title 

Tampa, Florida:
– Jay Youngblood defeated Jack Hart
– Tiger Conway Jr. defeated Dale Veasey
– Scott McGhee defeated Mike Golden
– Brian Blair fought Rip Rogers to a time-limit draw
– Southern Heavyweight Champion Hector Guerrero defeated Bill Irwin
– Bugsy McGraw defeated the Missing Link
– Wahoo McDaniel & Blackjack Mulligan defeated Jesse Barr & Bill Irwin
– Kerry Von Erich defeated NWA World Champion Ric Flair via disqualification 


Rhonda, North Carolina:
– The Rock N’ Roll Express defeated NWA World Tag Team champions The Midnight Express in a non-title match


Portland, Oregon:
– The Southern Rockers (Steve Doll and Scott Peterson) defeated Avalanche (P.N. News) and Mike Golden to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Titles


WCW Music City Showdown: Nashville, Tennessee:
– Ric Flair pinned NWA World Heavyweight Champion Ricky Steamboat to win the title (after the match, Terry Funk attacked Flair after Flair turned down a future title match with him, piledriving him on a ringside table)
– Michael Hayes pinned NWA United States Heavyweight Champion Lex Luger to win the title
– The Great Muta (with Gary Hart) defeated Doug Gilbert (with Eddie Gilbert)    
– Butch Reed defeated Ranger Ross    
– Dick Murdoch defeated Bob Orton Jr. (with Gary Hart) in a Bullrope match    
– Dynamic Dudes (Shane Douglas and Johnny Ace) defeated Samoan Swat Team (Samu and Fatu) (with Paul E. Dangerously)    
– Sting defeated Iron Sheik (with Rip Morgan) to retain the NWA World Television Championship    
– The Road Warriors (Hawk and Animal) (with Paul Ellering) defeated Varsity Club (Mike Rotunda and Steve Williams) (with Kevin Sullivan) by disqualification in a match for the NWA World Tag Team Championship with Nikita Koloff as the special guest referee
– Eddie Gilbert and Rick Steiner (with Missy Hyatt) defeated Varsity Club (Kevin Sullivan and Dan Spivey)to retain the NWA United States Tag Team Championship


Wichita, Kansas:
– Van Hammer pinned JT Southern
– Ron Simmons pinned Cactus Jack
– WCW U.S. Tag Team Champions Greg Valentine & Terry Taylor defeated Tom Zenk & Marcus Alexander Bagwell
– Ricky Steamboat pinned Steve Austin
– Nikita Koloff (substituting for WCW World Champion Sting) & the Great Muta defeated Big Van Vader & WCW U.S. Champion Rick Rude via disqualification
– WCW World Tag Team Champions Rick & Scott Steiner defeated Arn Anderson & Bobby Eaton


New Albany, Indiana:
– Nick Dinsmore defeated Rob Conway to win the OVW Heavyweight Title 


WCW Slamboree: Kansas City, Missouri:
– Chris Candido (with Tammy Lynn Stych) defeated The Artist (with Paisley) to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Championship    
– Terry Funk defeated Norman Smiley and Ralphus in a Handicap Hardcore match for the WCW Hardcore Championship
– Shawn Stasiak defeated Curt Hennig
– Scott Steiner (with Midajah and Shakira) defeated Captain Rection to retain the WCW United States Heavyweight Championship    
– Mike Awesome fought Chris Kanyon to a no contest    
– The Total Package defeated Buff Bagwell    
– Shane Douglas defeated Ric Flair    
– Sting defeated Vampiro    
– Hulk Hogan (with Horace Hogan) defeated Billy Kidman (with Torrie Wilson)    (Eric Bischoff as special guest referee)
– Jeff Jarrett defeated WCW World Heavyweight Champion David Arquette and Diamond Dallas Page in a triple-tier steel cage match to win the title 


Nashville, Tennessee:
– Christopher Daniels defeated Jerry Lynn & Amazing Red in a handicap match to win the NWA World Tag Team Championship