Pac-12 Conference Announces Volleyball Award Winners

The Pac-12 Conference announced its postseason volleyball awards earlier this week. Washington’s Courtney Schwan won the Pac-12 Volleyball Player of the Year, whilst Washington State’s Jen Greeny won the vote for Pac-12 Volleyball Coach of the Year and Stanford’s Kathryn Plummer took home the title of Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. In addition to the awards which were announced by Commissioner Larry Scott in mid-November, Arizona setter Penina Snuka won the title of Pac-12 Setter of the Year, whilst UCLA senior Taylor Formico was awarded the title of Pac-12 Libero of the year for the second year in a row. Laura Larson, also from Arizona, won the award of Pac-12 Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, a title which is selected by the Conference office.

Player of the Year

Courtney Schwan won Pac-12 Player of the Year 2016. A Washington junior, she has become the second Husky to win the Player of the Year title honor in the last four years, and the third Husky to win a Pac-12 award during that timespan. Following Krista Vansant, a former Husky who won the title in both 2013 and 2014, Washington was led to a second straight Pac-12 victory by Schwan after she was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week on both October 10 and November 28. In the Pac-12, Schwan ranks at number six in kills with 3.76 and just below at number seven in points per set with 4.13. So far, her abilities have helped Washington to average around 14.27 kills per set; ranking 19th in the U.S. Schwan is set to make her first career appearance on the All-Pac-12 team. Bet on her games at 888sport.

Freshman of the Year

The second-straight Cardinal to win the Freshman of the Year Award, Kathryn Plummer is a California native who has helped Stanford to win a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament, finishing at tied second in the Pac-12. She ranks second for kills per set at 3.24, and ninth for points per set with an average of 3.88. She also took home the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week award on November 21 and is a previous Pac-12 honoree with three Pac-12 Freshman of the Week awards.

Setter of the Year

Senior Penina Snuka is the first Wildcat to win the Pac-12 Setter of the Year title in the six-year history of the award. Ranking second in the Pac-12 with an average of 10.71 assists per set this season, she has helped Arizona to earn four consecutive NCAA Tournament berths whilst also making her second career appearance for the All-Pac-12 team. This season, Snuka managed to overtake the 5,000-career assist mark, becoming the 13th player to reach the milestone in Pac-12 history. She also ranks second amongst Division I players in career assists with an average of 5,086 and ranks 12th overall in the history of the league. She has earned a spot on the all-conference team for her third consecutive year this season.

Click Here: cheap Cowboys jerseyCoach of the Year

Jen Greeny, head coach at Washington State has led the Cougars to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in the last seven years, and the eleventh time overall. The Cougars have already recorded one of the best seasons in the history of the program this year, posting 21 wins to confirm the first 20-win campaign since way back in 2002. This year, the team’s eleven Conference wins to tie for fifth are the most that they have enjoyed in fifteen years and it’s also the best finish that the team have seen for the last thirteen years.

Discover more about the winners, nominees, and players with honorable mentions on the Pac-12 website.