On this day in pro wrestling history, Kangaroos, Gagne vs. Kiniski in Hawaii, Gordy wins Triple Crown, Hogan wins WCW title from Flair at Bash at the Beach, famous Punk vs. Cena Chicago bout

By Brian Hoops

1941 – In Kansas City; World Heavyweight Champion Lee Wykoff beat Dorv Roche in 2 falls. 

1950 – Johnny Valentine defeated Danny Dusek for the Florida NWA
Southern Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida.

1957 – Killer Kowalski defeated Gene Kiniski to win the Montreal
Athletic Commission World Heavyweight Title in Montreal, Quebec

1962 – In Minneapolis, MN; Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert beat Mr. M & Bob Geigel in 2 out of 3 falls; Doug Gilbert beat Jackie Nichols and Ilio DiPaolo beat Stan Kowalski

1964 – Mr. Moto and Nikita Mulkovich defeated Robert Duranton and Shag
Thomas for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1965 – The Assassins (Guy Mitchell and Joe Tomasso) defeated Boris and
Nicoli Volkoff to win the WWA World Tag Team Title in Indianapolis, Indiana.

1967 – Tim and Rip Tyler defeated Bobby Fields and Ken Lucas for the NWA
Gulf Coast Tag Team Title in Panama City, Florida.

1968 – Johnny Barend and Magnificent Maurice defeated Peter Maivia and
Billy White Wolf to win the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1970 – The Fabulous Kangaroos (Al Costello and Don Kent) defeated Dick
the Bruiser and Bill Miller for the WWA World Tag Team Title in Indianapolis, Indiana.

1970 – Paul DeMarco defeated Nick Bockwinkel for the Georgia State Title
in Atlanta, Georgia

1971 – In Chicago, Illinois; Hans Schmidt & Baron Von Raschke beat AWA Tag Team Champions Red Bastien & Hercules Cortez by dq, Wilbur Snyder beat Mad Dog Vachon, Nick Bockwinkel beat Ernie Ladd dq and Billy Robinson beat Big K

1973 – Bob Armstrong and Bill Dromo defeated The Super Infernos for the
NWA Macon Tag Team Title in Macon, Georgia

1974 – In Honolulu, Hawaii at the HIC Center; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Gene Kiniski, Ivan Putski & Sam Steamboat beat Peace Brothers and Ed Francis beat Masked Marvel

1976 – Pampero Firpo defeated The Sheik to win the NWA United States
Heavyweight Title in Detroit, Michigan

1976 – In St. Paul, Minnesota; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Buddy Wolff, Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Heenan and The Crusher beat Bobby Duncum

1977 – In Green Bay, Wisconsin; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Pedro Morales, Verne Gagne & Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Blackjack Lanza & Bobby Duncum & Bobby Heenan, Super Destroyer beat Billy Robinson by dq and Ray Stevens beat Roger Kirby

1983 – Ron Garvin defeated The Iron Sheik in Atlanta, Georgia to win the
NWA National Television Title.

1987 – Rufus R. Jones defeated Porkchop Cash in Kansas City, Kansas to
win the NWA Central States Heavyweight Title.

1990 – Terry Gordy defeated Stan Hansen for the AJPW Triple Crown Title
in Ishikawa, Japan,

1993 – Brian Lee defeated Tracy Smothers for the SMW Heavyweight Title
in Johnson City, Tennessee

1994 -Hulk Hogan defeated Ric Flair to win the WCW World Heavyweight
Title. Also, Paul Roma & Paul Orndorff defeated Cactus Jack & Kevin
Sullivan to win the WCW World Tag Team Title and WCW United States Champion Steve Austin defeated Ricky Steamboat in Orlando, Florida.

2002 – The Dogg Pound (Shelton Benjamin and Redd Dogg (Rodney Mack)
defeated Flash Flanagan and Trailer Park Trash to win the OVW Southern
Tag Team Title in Jeffersonville, Indiana

2002 – Kronik (Brian Adams and Bryan Clarke) defeated Taiyo Kea and
Keiji Muto for the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Title in Osaka, Japan.

2005 – At the TNA PPV, No Surrender in Orlando, Florida; A.J. Styles pinned Sean Waltman, TNA X Division Champion Christopher Daniels pinned Petey Williams to retain the title and NWA World Heavyweight Champion Raven pinned Abyss to retain the title. 

2006 – In Sapparo, Japan; Real Wild Child (Manabu Nakanishi and Takao Omori) defeated Shiro Koshinaka and Togi Makabe to become the interim IWGP Tag Team Champions and Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Giant Bernard to win the vacant IWGP Heavyweight Title.

2007 – In Laredo, Texas during taping of Smackdown; The Great Khali won a 20-man battle royal to win the vacant World Heavyweight Title.

2011 – At the Money in the Bank PPV from Chicago, Illinois; CM Punk defeated John Cena to win the WWE Title.